Welcome to the "What have the ANTs ever done for us? Packing your cases to follow the actors..." discussion!

Really I’d like to introduce this collectively as

We are the Facebook actor-network theory group, we hang out at https://www.facebook.com/groups/220398254694166/ and chat about all thinks related to the loose assemblage of ideas and methods that get grouped under the term “actor-network theory”.

I like that – it includes groups, ideas and technologies together and suggests something dynamic and changing, heterogeneous and non-individual However, if instead the introduction was written in more conventional terms what would happen? I’ll try:

Hello, I’m Steve Wright. I work as a Learning Technologist and Qualitative Data Analysis Software teacher and consultant at Lancaster University. I completed my PhD in E-Research and Technology Enhanced Learning in 2014 in which I drew extensively on ideas from actor-network theory and some of it’s intellectual roots and methods from ethnomethodology – to explore how sensory assessment (specifically beer judging) is learned and assessed and certified. I’m interested in methods and the relationships they have to theory, the place of technology (and how technology is understood or considered) in that counts as “technology” and how those relationships are and can be translated into actual practices of researching, teaching and learning.